DIY Boot Shaper

DSCN5451

In between all of the million things I had to get done this weekend, I had an epiphany.

I’m the worst culprit of TCCOMNLB or “taking crap care of my nice leather boots.” I enjoy the distressed look but it’s getting out of hand. And my boots are sad and wrinkly.

I considered investing in some fancy boot shapers when  I remembered my New Year’s resolution YSNSMOMTTWYCCY or  “You shalt not spend money on miscellaneous things that which you can create yourself.”

(Based in the style of the Ten Commandments, I thought it only appropriate to document all resolutions in this way.)

So using an old sweater and soon-to-be-recycled magazines, I quickly remedied the situation.

DSCN5422

I cut the sleeves off of an old sweater.

(It’s that time of the year when I am re-evaluating my closet and its contents. Anything I haven’t worn in the past two years is typically thrown in the donation pile…or made into boot shapers.)

DSCN5443

I rolled up an old magazine and slipped it inside. The magazine was better than any other stuffing because of it’s defined shape.

I suppose you could also roll up a magazine, secure it with a rubber band, and call it a day. But where is the fun in that?

DSCN5445

To finish, I secured the ends with a simple stitch.

DSCN5448

Cute, easy, and essentially free.

My shoes are so in love with me now, they are practically begging me to go out and buy them some new friends to join the fun. That’s what they are saying, right?

boot-shaper

About Girl of a 1000 Dreams

Lover of DIY and cats. But aren't we all?
This entry was posted in For DIY-ers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

