DIY T-Shirt Quilt: Part One

diy-t-shirt-quilt-part-one

I graduated college two years ago. Gosh I can’t believe I’m even saying that! Yikes-a-bee. In those four years, I acquired more t-shirts than I could ever need. I’m not a big t-shirt “wearer” so I don’t really ever use them anymore.

I have seen t-shirt quilts done many times and I think they are an adorably fun way to preserve and enjoy those memories. There are many companies/individuals to go through but I’ve decided to take this on my self. I am lucky enough to be taught by a few local women so I’m documenting the process here. Yes…it’s a friday night and you can find me happily drinking a glass of wine and quilting. More proof that I am secretly 90-years-old. I’m cool with it.

Whichever route YOU take, this first step is simple and easy to do yourself. In fact, some companies actually ask that you cut your t-shirts before you send them in.

This makes 12 1/2 by 12 1/2 inch t-shirt squares. When sewn together for the finished product each will have a 1/4 inch seam allowance around all four sides.

You will need:
Lightweight Fusible Interfacing
Rotary Cutter
Cutting Mat
12 1/2 Inch Square Quilting Ruler
Sharp Sewing Scissors
Iron/Board

t-shirt-quilt-step-oneStep One: T-shirts should be washed, dried, and pressed. If they have been well-loved, this is obviously not an issue. If the t-shirt is new, it should be washed twice to prevent colors from running.

t-shirt-quilt-step-two

Step Two: This is simply precautionary. Lay the quilting ruler on top of the t-shirt’s design just to get an idea of how the ruler will need to lay in order to get the full design on the quilt square.

t-shirt-quilt-step-three

Step Three: Separate the front and back of the t-shirt. I cut along the seams of the t-shirt just to be safe and allow enough room for the ruler. If you are also using the back of the t-shirt, put it to the side and repeat this entire process again.

t-shirt-quilt-step-fourStep Four: Cut a piece of the fusible interfacing to size and iron it smoothly to the back of the t-shirt. The interfacing acts as a stabilizer for the knit fabric.

t-shirt-quilt-step-fiveStep Five: Turn the t-shirt right-side-up again and lay the quilting ruler squarely over the design.

t-shirt-quilt-step-six

Step Six: This step should be done carefully and without rushing. You shouldn’t be intimidated but you also really don’t want to make any mistakes here. It would be a pain in the butt later when you are trying to piece the quilt together.

Hold the ruler in place with one hand and with the other, guide the rotary cutter carefully along the ruler. Always roll away from yourself. Do all four sides and then you’re finished!

I’m excited to finally get this project going! Check back in to see my progress!

About Girl of a 1000 Dreams

Lover of DIY and cats. But aren't we all?
This entry was posted in For DIY-ers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY T-Shirt Quilt: Part One

  1. My mom made one of these for me a few years ago out of my baby/little kid clothes. It is one of my favorite things ever. She is not a crafty lady so that makes it even better AND since it’s made out of old clothes it is so soft and easy to wash. Good luck with yours!

  2. Tamara says:

    This is great! Thank you so much. My daughter will be turning 21 in a couple of months and I was trying to find someone who could do this but I might just tackle this myself. Please keep posting your results and details.

  3. Christine says:

    Looks great! Can’t wait to see more!

  4. Pingback: DIY T-Shirt Quilt: Part Two |

Leave a Reply

