DIY Tea Light Log

diy-how-to-tea-light-log-2

I fell in L.O.V.E. with this unique, rustic candle holder we found at a local boutique-y home store around Christmas.

It was $175!

Thanks, but no thanks.

Here’s what I did instead…

tea-log-inspiration

I bought one eight foot log from Menard’s. I think it cost me, maybe four dollars. I had my lovely assistant/boyfriend help me transport it across the lot and there they sliced it into four, two foot long pieces.

I’m don’t know what kind of wood I used. But I liked the light coloring and darker imperfections it came with.

wood-logs

I sanded each two foot “log” with a fine and medium grit sander. With a measuring tape I marked where each whole would be drilled.

The holes were drilled using a 1 1/2 inch spade drill bit from Lowe’s. The 1 1/2 hole fits a standard tea light perfectly!

After the holes were drilled and the log sanded with fine grit paper once more, I sprayed on a few layers of spar varnish to protect from wax and weathering.

diy-how-to-tea-light-log

When dry, I put some adhesive protective pads on the bottom to prevent scratching.

Easy as pie! And almost as cheap as a pie.

Merrill: 1     Expensive, over-priced slice of tree: 0

diy-tea-light-log-with-site

About Girl of a 1000 Dreams

Lover of DIY and cats. But aren't we all?
This entry was posted in For DIY-ers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

