DIY Tutu

diy-tutu

After nearly two years since graduating college, I still have yet to fully comprehend how many of my friend’s weddings I’ve attended and the fact that I am no longer the most important person in their life. Sigh…

And it seems to be that every few months…I am standing near the altar…giving away yet another special person in my life.

Two weekends ago it was another one of those days! There were many tears…all happy…and everything went off without a hitch!

I was beyond thrilled when Cat asked me to be one of her bridesmaids. One of my first duties was to begin on a tutu for our little flower girl Charlie.

So simple and super inexpensive.

DSCN1866

Supplies:
4 rolls of 6 inch tulle
Elastic
Needle and thread
Ribbon or giant hair bow

If there is one skill I don’t have, it’s making decent bows. They are my kryptonite.

I bought a pre-made hair bow instead. Plus, little Charlie could remove it afterwards and use it for something else.

tutu-supplies

Charlie was 19 inches around the waist so I removed a few inches and sewed the elastic into a circle, 16 inches around. No sewing machine involved.

We cut the tulle into many, many, MANY individual strips at varying lengths. Between 24 and 28 inches.

Below are some visuals on how to attach the tulle. Elementary stuff!

1. Fold the tulle in half and slide under the elastic.

tutu-step-1

2. Pull end through the loop.

tutu-step-2

3. Pull tight.

tutu-step-3

4. Keep adding tulle, overlapping and filling in. We used four rolls of 6 inch tulle. Each roll was 25 yards long.

5. Invert the tutu so that you no longer see any of the individual knots.

tutu-final

6. Place hair bow accordingly!

flower-girl-tutu-2

Little Charlie was just as smitten with her new “princess” tutu as Cat was with her new husband.

Ahh, I just want to keep them both forever.

About Girl of a 1000 Dreams

Lover of DIY and cats. But aren't we all?
This entry was posted in For DIY-ers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Tutu

  1. Christine says:

    If only I’d seen this 3 days ago!

Leave a Reply

