Faux Gold-Leafed, Agate Tray

glitter guide agate tray

If you haven’t yet discovered the brilliance of Glitter Guide, shame on you.

Earlier this week, they instagrammed this picture. What caught my eye was the gorgeous gold-leafed, agate-like tray thingy.

I obviously had to have it. Here’s what I did to get the look!

You will need:
One 12 x 12 inch marble floor tile – Lowe’s ($5!)
Chisel
Hammer
Gold Paint
Protective Eyewear

1. On a concrete or asphalt surface, hold the chisel vertical to the tile. Bring the hammer down onto the chisel until the tile breaks. Continue to work around the edges of the tile until you get it down to a shape and size you like. This might take some practice.  The tile won’t always break exactly where you want but that’s okay. We aren’t going for perfection.

2. Add some adhesive felt pads to the underside to prevent scratching.

3. Paint edge in gold or silver. The gold paint was left over from a previous project of mine.

photolayouts_part15_small_02

I really, really love the finished product. Chic, elegant, and modern.

faux gold leafed agate tray

faux gold leafed agate tray 2

About Girl of a 1000 Dreams

Lover of DIY and cats. But aren't we all?
This entry was posted in For DIY-ers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Faux Gold-Leafed, Agate Tray

  1. krystal says:

    Holy!!! I love it!! This is perfect. I’m doing my bathroom in gold and this will be just what I need for the counter top. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  2. Instant Milk says:

    Oh my oh my! Awesome post and thanks for sharing hun!
    I really like your blog. Come by! We can follow each other on GFC, Bloglovin and Facebook ;)!

    That sounds like a lot, so I’ll leave the links here to make it easy for you:
    Instant Milk link
    Facebook page link
    Bloglovin link

    Come by soon!
    xx

  3. Looks so pretty, well done!

  4. Tina says:

    I absolutely love this idea! Going to attempt to try it one of these days! I love your blog and now a follower on blogloving! Pls stop by my blog and follow me also if you like it 🙂

    Tina
    http://www.outfitsfrommycloset.com/

  5. fabricpaperglue says:

    What an awesome project! It looks very expensive and elegant!

Leave a Reply

