Designer Inspired: Kate Spade Polka Dot Plate

untitled

I admit it. I’m a labels girl. I’m an absolute sucker for ‘em. They draw me in like a bad relationship and spit me back out with nothing left but a clouded memory and zero dollars to my name.

Confessions aside, I know I can’t always afford to pay for them nor do I want to. So that means taking matters into my own hands.

I have been drooling over a polka dot set of Kate Spade dinnerware for I think my whole life. I have no use for them but I am certain that if I had them, the suns and moons would align and life would be perfect. Dramatic. But true.

Seeing as I wasn’t about to spend $140 dollars for one 5 piece place setting, I came up with an alternative plan.

172491130529c

$140. For one set. Times six that’s $840. YIKES!

Here’s what you will need to fake the Kate Spade look:

Inexpensive ceramic plates (Dollar Store)
Paper Hole Reinforcement Stickers (Dollar Store, Staples, Walmart, etc.)
A small box knife
Martha Stuart Crafts Glass Paint (Michael’s)
A small tipped paint brush

8c-KePy6lLHWau4aKPkqIBK0CqH2rWttqpiVRLnEXX0

1. Place reinforcement stickers in your desired design. The holes will become your polka dots so place accordingly!

2. Fill in the holes with the paint color of your choice.  You can get sloppy.  I chose paint with a metallic finish and it looks stunning. Let dry.

3. Important: Before removing the stickers, use a small box knife to outline each polka dot inside the sticker. This separates the paint from the sticker. If you miss this step, and immediately try to remove the sticker…the paint will come off with it.

When you remove them, there will be some residue left behind. Ignore that for now!

4.Bake in the oven or let air dry for 21 days to cure the paint.

Any glass paint can be used, just follow the directions. Specific Martha Stewart directions are below.

“Paint is permanent after air drying 21 days or can be baked to expedite permanence. Bake method: Let project air dry 1 hour, place in cool oven. Set temperature to 350 degrees F and bake for 30 minutes (glass must heat gradually). After 30 minutes, turn oven off. Let glass cool completely in oven. Wait 72 hours before using.”

5. Let cool.

6. Use Goo Gone or any adhesive cleaner to gently remove residue left behind by the stickers. Hand wash.

pink pink plate

I love how these turned out so much I will absolutely be making more. Maybe a giant platter? Or a cake stand? And how cute would these be multi-colored?!

I hope you enjoy making these as much as I did! Perfect for a shower, wedding, birthday party, dinner by yourself…

Lesson learned: Never buy something for $140  when you can make it for $5! Merrill:1 Kate Spade: 0

gold gold plate   

Disclaimer: I did not make the cupcakes! Cooking and baking are two skills I DO NOT posses.

About Girl of a 1000 Dreams

Lover of DIY and cats. But aren't we all?
This entry was posted in Designer Inspired DIY's and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Designer Inspired: Kate Spade Polka Dot Plate

  1. krystal says:

    I love love love THIS!! What program did you use to make the heart collage? New follower! http://www.krystalskitsch.com
    http://www.sunnysoirees.com

  2. Pingback: High Five For Friday | Girl of a Thousand Dreams

  3. Pingback: Faux Gold-Leafed, Agate Tray | Girl of a Thousand Dreams

  4. Pingback: Polka Dot Plates

  5. megan says:

    I love this tutorial!
    I added it to the new database at craftsatplay.com
    You’ll be able to find it on the recently added page tomorrow morning. I hope you stop by and see us.
    http://www.craftsatplay.com

    Megan

  6. Pingback: DIY Wednesday:16 Fun Polka Dot Projects - Bajan Wed

Leave a Reply

