Showing Some Love to Thanksgiving

Contrary to popular belief, I do “love and appreciate” Thanksgiving.  I just so happen to think it is a holiday that which falls during the Christmas season.

Watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade while everyone else cooks…is probably one of my top 4 favorite events. Ever. The other three being Christmas, my birthday, and any time Taylor Swift releases a new CD.

One of the Thanksgiving Day tasks I’m more productive in helping with is decorating. Presentation is key, people!

So I found this dessert stand while perusing the internet and recreated something of my own for the Thanksgiving table this year.

I used 3 tree slices from Micheal’s (COUPONS!), two cheap-o candle sticks, and some left over E-6000.

One…

Two…

Three!

I left the wood bare. Mostly because I’m lazy but also because after my recent experience with resin, I didn’t feel like recreating the mess! I also like the natural finish. The doilies seemed like a nice accent and provide a protective barrier between the wood and the dessert.

But if you have the time and work space to do a protective finish, resin or polyurethane would work wonderfully.

Can’t wait to fill it with pumpkin cupcakes and goodies on Thanksgiving Day. For now, scones will have to do.

__________________________________________________________

I’ve also been dabbling in some pie decorating this fall.

I am ashamed to admit that I always go for pre-made pie crust and filling.

Wait…no.

No, I’m not.

Totally not ashamed at all.

About Girl of a 1000 Dreams

Lover of DIY and cats. But aren't we all?
This entry was posted in For DIY-ers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Showing Some Love to Thanksgiving

  1. Christine says:

    Love this idea… now you have my wheels spinning!
    work-it-blog.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

